How to Attend an Online School without Spending a Penny

Okay, except maybe for an Internet connection and electricity bills. But putting these aside, YOU CAN.

Coursera is one good example. It’s an online website where you can choose any of the more than a hundred courses on the list. Mind you, though, these are not the run-of-the-mill types or random subjects. These are all designed, controlled, and kept track by some of the biggest universities in the world, such as Princeton and Stanford.

Moreover, some of these courses come with certificates of completion or distinction, which can be great additions to your CVs. Of course, Coursera gives you an opportunity to learn something without spending a dime at all. You simply have to register on the course you want, work on any activity as much as possible, and read the reference materials. Gather all your powers so you can truly complete the course.

A couple of days ago, I just enrolled in Networks Friends Money and Bytes, which is a Princeton course. I planned to have one more, but I don’t think I would have the time. I think you can still sign up. If you’re interested, please do, so we can probably share notes or talk about the modules.

9 thoughts on “How to Attend an Online School without Spending a Penny

  1. Exciting! Lem, as if I don’t have enough on my plate, I went ahead and signed up for the Greek and Roman Mythology course, something I really enjoyed back then. So, good luck on the reading list na lang!

    • Who knows you’ll have a lot of fun you’ll make sure to find time for it. πŸ™‚ Actually, Kar, depending on the university that created the course, you can look forward to a fall break. Haha! It’s fun, right?

  2. Last week, I enrolled in Modern and Contemporary American Poetry. Our class will start on Monday. I’m pretty excited about it. I took some master’s units in literature some years back but the too academic, too formal (not too mention the too expensive tuition) set-up of the school was quite discouraging. I hope this Coursera course will turn out okay. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi! Just signed up for Networks: Friends, Money, and Bytes. Kita kits πŸ˜€ hehe I really wanted to study online without spending a penny. Perfect timing lang gyud ni. πŸ™‚

  4. Pingback: Geemiz Joins Cebu Book Club

So what are your thoughts?