How Was My 2012?

So how was last year (or a day ago)? I guess it would be nice if I can have some sort of a look back just to remind myself the things I accomplished:

I’ve gone to places that are not part of my bucket list. Butuan wasn’t, but it turned out to be such a pleasant experience the Husband and I are heading back there this coming summer as part of our 4-leg Mindanao tour! Plus, we went there for a very special purpose: attend the wedding of two good friends.

hannah and mackie's wedding in butuan

We went to Vigan. I’ve always loved history, so Vigan has always been one of my dream destinations. Last April,  after a more than 8-hour land trip, I set foot in one of the best-planned towns in the country.

A Vigan trip will never be complete without climbing this tower.

A Vigan trip will never be complete without climbing this tower.

Finally, I got to use my passport. Singapore wasn’t part of the bucket list either, but I’m happy I booked a flight. It’s definitely a totally different experience living on other people’s traditions and cultures for a few days. It gave me a different perspective about own culture and how good I actually am when it comes to backpacking (or semi-backpacking). Come August, we’ll be off to Hong Kong with my sister and hopefully another Singapore trip with the rest of my extended family.

 cropped-chinatown-me.jpg

We opened a bakeshop. It’s my fantasy to own a very charming cafe serving the most delectable and hopefully less-calorie pastries and desserts, paired with a warm cup of coffee from beans sourced out all over the country. I don’t know if this is going to happen this year (I’m just crossing my fingers!), but at least we’re already making those first steps. We opened a small bakeshop last year. So far, our baked goodies are getting positive feedback, and business was brisk last holiday season.

A lot of my friends are venturing into food as well. Hope to feature them too this year.

I quit red meat. I’m a true-blue carnivore. I grew up dining on a lot of grease and chicken skin. But around a month before the year ended, I decided to quit eating red meat. I tried some during the holidays, but lechon and ham never tasted the same. For this year, I’m cutting back on chicken and definitely adding more fruits and vegetables in the diet. Difficult, yes, but necessary since I’m not getting any younger.

I became a magazine writer. I am one of the lucky writers for Xync, a Cebu-based magazine that’s set to launch this March 2013. I had never written for a magazine, so it’s both exciting and challenging for me.

CBS, Cebu Book Club, GDG, and GBG. These were some organizations I’m proud to be part of. Schedules had been crazy the past few months, but I’m  ready to become a more active member this year. I have a lot of faith in these groups.

2012 was good to me and my loved ones. There were some pains along the way, but they were too minor I couldn’t even remember any one of them anymore.  With God’s help, 2013 will be just as awesome, if not even better.

3 thoughts on “How Was My 2012?

  1. Happy new year lems. 🙂 Yes, I am putting this health business on top of my priorities this year too. I’m about to venture into another decade. And I fear I may have had indulge too much for the past 5 years for it to be reversible, but i have to try. 🙂

    Congrats sa bakery and writing job. 🙂

    Cheers to a prosperous and more blessed 2013!

  2. Pingback: A Short Stop in Butuan | Domesticated Cebuana

So what are your thoughts?

