Ready for Christmas?

When it comes to preparations, we’re a tad late than around 70 percent of the Philippine population, but, you know, it’s okay. The past few days weren’t really nice for me, and I wasn’t sure if there’s a good Christmas to look forward to.

Poor me, I underestimated the meaning of the season. It’s supposed to stand for jubilation, celebration, thanksgiving, and, most of all, hope. So yesterday I decided to cheer myself up a bit in our tiny household and decorate!

Check out what the husband and I had done. We didn’t spend much for the pieces. In fact, we’ve been using most of them for the past 3-plus years, including the Christmas lights. All in all, I shelled out less than 500 pesos; and I already bought a glue gun, some new Christmas balls and lights, glitters, and double-sided tapes (which have never been cheap to begin with):

I planned not to put up a tree since I don't have enough space to store it. But I think Christmas will never be complete without one, so I made it using  Christmas balls.

I planned not to put up a tree since I don’t have enough space to store it after. But I think Christmas will never be complete without one, so I made it using Christmas balls. That’s our handy living room lamp, which we bought for less than a thousand last year, and my ex-water bottle–the husband’s idea.Β 

I wanted to make DIY wreath but didn't have the time. Anyway, three large balls used to hang at the back. I removed them to give this a more streamlined look.

I wanted to make DIY wreath but didn’t have the time. Anyway, three large balls used to hang at the back. I removed them to give this a more streamlined look.

The poinsettias that never die. I "stole" the jar from my mom's kitchen.

The poinsettias that never die. I “stole” the jar from my mom’s kitchen.

 

Good thing I kept some of these bowls. They added more color to our living room.

Good thing I kept some of these bowls. They added more color to our living room.

I’m not yet 100 percent done, but I’m happy the way everything is turning out. As a Β bonus, I hung out with the family today.

From the left: me, my mom, sister, dad. I wish it's December 8 so my brother's here.

From the left: me, my mom, sister, dad. December 8, please be here faster so we can be with our brother again.

Don't ask me why he prefers not to smile in photos.

Don’t ask me why he prefers not to smile in photos.

How about you? How are you doing with your Christmas prep?

 

2 thoughts on “Ready for Christmas?

  1. it’s funny how we used to take being complete as a family for granted before. and when we start following different paths, we wish very hard for things to go back the way it was so that things would feel perfect again. πŸ™‚ i oftentimes catch myself feeling that way, especially when i am in cebu.

    your house looks christmassy enough. πŸ™‚ i love the paintings on the wall.

    • I had the same sentiments, Girl, when I got married. I missed home, so I kept on coming back. Well, I still do. πŸ™‚ By the way, they aren’t paintings but sketches (or drawings) made by a friend. Are you interested? πŸ™‚ I can let her know. The printing, as far as I can remember, was roughly 250 pesos. The frames were 150 pesos.

So what are your thoughts?

