Meatless Monday: Vegetable Lumpia

I think one of the biggest challenges in doing Meatless Monday is when you’re out. You can’t just help it! You’ll end up ogling and salivating on Krispy Kremes, a bowl of dinuguan and a plate of lechon, lasagna–okay, I need to stop.

But the good news is I did it! I conquered the want to grab that deliciously cooked fried pork at home or that sizzling chicken steak the husband thoroughly enjoyed. Just look at his face!

Nom-nomin the sizzling chicken steak!

So what did I have? This.

Crispy, crispy.

Vegetable lumpia.

It’s crispy, it’s tasty, and it’s very cheap. It doesn’t have any meat substitute or extenders. It reminds me so much of the vegetable lumpia my aunt used to make at home. I think this is one of the very few vegetarian dishes I’ll never get tired of eating.

If you want this, just go to any Orange Brutus branch.

 

2 thoughts on “Meatless Monday: Vegetable Lumpia

  1. You made it! Good for you, Lem. As someone once told me, baby steps is the way to go. I love vegetable lumpia, by the way, especially the fresh kind. I love the crepes that Max’s uses for its vegetable lumpia! I think you can ask them to omit the meat. I am sure they will not balk at it. Keep the veggie love going!

    • Kar, I know how to prepare fresh lumpia–well, before 🙂 I’ll try to recall the steps next week. By the way, I’m going to try your mushroom burger for Meatless Monday (or Tuesday since I haven’t done groceries yet).

So what are your thoughts?

