Cleaning Checklists

Cleaning and I have a love-hate relationship. I actually prefer getting rid of trash, dusting, and all sorts of domesticated chores in the middle of the night, when all is quiet and my mind is very clear. I can organize things very well then.

But usually these allergens beckon me anytime during the day. Worse, every time I see them, I almost always remember my mom. She’s the neat freak in the family. I’m scared she’ll drop by one of these days, and she’ll see a speck of dust perhaps on the dining table. She will then look at me in the eyes and tell me how “dirty” I am.

Another problem I have with cleaning is I don’t really know where to start. Normally, I go with my gut feel, if not spend more time on a couple of areas. However, by the the time I turn my attention to the untouched, I have no more energy left.

So I decided to check out 3 checklists I can use to add more organization and perhaps speed up the cleaning process. (I don’t own a vacuum cleaner right now, so I’d expect to spend a few more minutes than expected, though.)

Amazingly, I found some great ones:

It’s very straightforward. It tells you what to do, allowing you to address the major issues in every section of your home.

If you’re an ultra-organizer, this link is the right one for you. There’s an everyday checklist, weekly checklist, monthly checklist, home keeping checklist, moving checklist, etc.

If you don’t want to be pressed for time, use the checklist.

I’ll probably make my own very soon. After all, no one really knows my house better than I. But while I’m still figuring out how to make an excellent, easy-to-use, and practical checklist, I’ll stick to any one of these.

So what are your thoughts?

